

Borough of Douglas

Town Hall,

Douglas,

9th May, 2018

At an ANNUAL MEETING of the COUNCIL of the BOROUGH OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 3.00 p.m. on WEDNESDAY, the 9th day of MAY, 2018, in the COUNCIL CHAMBER, within the TOWN HALL, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

The Mayor

COUNCILLOR MR JONATHAN JOUGHIN, JP

Councillors

Ms N.A. Byron Mrs H. Callow Mr S.R. Pitts Mrs R. Chatel Mr I.J.G. Clague, MBE Mr D.W. Christian, MBE, JP Ms C.E. Malarkey Mrs C.L. Wells Mr C.L.H. Cain Miss D.A.M. Pitts, JP Mr F. Horning Mr R.H. McNicholl Ms K. Angela Mrs E.C. Quirk Ms J. Thommeny

Apologies for absence were submitted by Mr Councillor J.E. Skinner and Mr Councillor F. Pabellan.

The Town Clerk and Chief Executive, Director of Finance, Director of Housing and Property and the Director of Environment and Regeneration were in attendance.

1. Chair of Meeting

The retiring Mayor, Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts, JP, took the Chair at the commencement of the meeting.

2. Election of Mayor

Nomination proposed by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, seconded by Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain, "That Mr Councillor J. Joughin be elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas for the forthcoming municipal year."

Question put on Nomination: a vote was taken electronically, and the Nomination was carried unanimously.

3. Investiture of Mayor

Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl and Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain communicated the decision of the Council in the matter of the election of Mayor to the Mayor-Elect in the Mayor's Parlour and escorted him into the Council Chamber where the Retiring Mayor invested him with the Mayor's Chain of Office.

4. Declaration of Acceptance of Office of Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor, Mr Councillor J. Joughin, made and subscribed the Declaration of Acceptance of Office prescribed under Section 10 of the Local Elections Act, 1986, as follows:

"I, Jonathan Joughin, of 60 Victoria Road, Douglas, having been elected Mayor of the Borough of Douglas, for the year commencing 9th May, 2018, hereby declare that I take the said office upon myself and will duly and faithfully fulfil the duties thereof according to the best of my judgement and ability."

The Town Clerk and Chief Executive countersigned the declaration as having been made before her.

5. Appointment of Deputy Mayor

The Worshipful the Mayor appointed Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague to act as Deputy Mayor and signified the appointment to the Council in the following terms:

"In pursuance of Schedule 2 of the Local Elections Act 1986, as substituted by the Douglas Corporation Act 1988, I hereby appoint Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague to act as Deputy Mayor during my illness or absence."

Resolved unanimously, "That the appointment as Deputy Mayor of Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague be recorded on the minutes."

6. Appointment of Chaplain; Civic Church Service

The Worshipful the Mayor informed the Council of the appointment of Monsignor John Devine as Mayor's Chaplain during his term of Office, and invited Members and Officers of the Council and other public bodies, together with ratepayers and friends, to accompany him to divine service at St. George's Church on Sunday, 10th June, 2018.

7. Vote of Thanks to Retiring Mayor – Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts, JP

Motion moved by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, seconded by Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey, "That the best thanks of the Council be accorded to the Retiring Mayor, Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts, JP, for her exemplary services as Mayor of the Borough."

Question put on Motion; a vote was taken electronically, and the Motion was carried unanimously.

Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts, JP, suitably replied.

8. Suspension of Business

The Worshipful the Mayor suspended the business of the meeting whilst he presented Mrs Angela Joughin, as Mayoress, and Mrs Suzette Clague, as Deputy Mayoress, with their respective badges of office.

9. **Minutes – 11th April, 2018**

Minutes of the monthly Council meeting held on Wednesday, 11th April, 2018, were approved and signed.

The Council rose at 3.45pm.

del endrée

Town Clerk & Chief Executive