

Borough of Douglas

Town Hall,

Douglas,

29th September 2016

At a SPECIAL MEETING of the COUNCIL of the BOROUGH OF DOUGLAS, duly convened and holden at 3.00 p.m. on THURSDAY, the 29th day of SEPTEMBER, 2016, in the COMMUNITY ROOM, within the NOBLE'S PARK PAVILION, at which Meeting the following Members were present, that is to say: -

Councillor

Mr S.R. Pitts	Mr C.L.H. Cain
Mrs R. Chatel	Mr F. Pabellan
Mr I.J.G. Clague, MBE	Miss D.A.M. Pitts
Mr D.W. Christian, MBE, JP	Mr F. Horning
Ms C.E. Malarkey	Mr R.H. McNicholl
Mrs C.L. Wells	Ms J. Thommeny

Apologies for absence were submitted by the Mayor, Councillor Ms C.R. Turner, Councillor Ms K. Angela and Councillor Mrs E.C. Quirk.

The Town Clerk and Chief Executive was in attendance.

1. Suspension of Standing Orders 60 and 61

The Chief Executive advised Members that due to the change in meeting location, the electronic voting system was not available for use. Members unanimously agreed to suspend Standing Orders 60 and 61, Method of Voting and Voting Procedures, and instead vote by a raise of hands for the duration of the meeting, other than when a ballot was required to take place.

2. Member to Chair Special Meeting

Resolved unanimously, "That Councillor Mrs R. Chatel be elected to take the Chair of the Meeting."

3. St George's Ward and Victoria Ward Vacancies

The Chief Executive reported that at the Elections to the House of Keys on Thursday, 22nd September, 2016, Councillor Mrs C.A. Corlett was elected in Central Douglas and Mr Councillor D.J. Ashford in North Douglas and on taking their seats have ceased to be Members of the Council . Members were advised that the vacancies arising in St George's Ward and Victoria Ward would be filled at a bye-election on Thursday 3rd November, 2016. Notice has already been published inviting nominations which will close 11th October, 2016.

4. Election of Chair of the Housing Committee

The Chair invited nominations for a Member to serve as Chair of the Housing Committee.

Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain was nominated by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, seconded by Councillor Ms J. Thommeny.

Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells was nominated by Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, seconded by Mr Councillor F. Horning.

A ballot took place in which the votes were cast as follows;

Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain 6
Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells 6

The Chair advised that as Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain and Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells obtained the same number of votes a further ballot must take place.

A further ballot took place in which the votes were cast as follows;

Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain 6
Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells 6

The Chief Executive reported that in line with Standing Order 59, the Chair of the meeting has the casting vote. Members unanimously agreed that the Chair of the Meeting select at random one of the two nominees names' from the ballot box to determine the appointment of the Chair of the Housing Committee.

Resolved unanimously, "That Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells be appointed to serve as Chair to the Housing Committee for the remainder of the municipal years 2016 to 2018."

5. Election of Chair of the Pensions Committee

The Chair invited nominations for a Member to serve as the Chair of the Pensions Committee for the remainder of the municipal years 2016 to 2018.

Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain was nominated by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells and seconded by Mr Councillor D.W. Christian.

Resolved unanimously, "That Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain be elected Chair of the Pensions Committee for the remainder of municipal years 2016 to 2018."

6. Election of a Member to the Executive Committee

The Chair invited nominations for a Member to serve on the Executive Committee for the remainder of municipal years 2016 to 2018.

Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague was nominated by Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, seconded by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl.

Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey was nominated by Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts, seconded by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells.

Councillor Ms K. Angela was nominated by Mr Councillor F. Horning, seconded by Councillor Ms J. Thommeny.

A ballot took place in which the votes were cast as follows;

Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey 3

Councillor Ms K. Angela 1

The Chair declared Mr Councillor I.J.G. Clague, having obtained a simple majority of the votes of the Members present, to be elected a Member of the Executive Committee for the remainder of the municipal years 2016 to 2018.

7. Appointment of a Member to the Isle of Man Municipal Association

The Chair invited nominations for a Member to serve as the Council's representative to the Isle of Man Municipal Association.

Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey was nominated by Mr Councillor D.W. Christian, seconded by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells.

Councillor Ms J. Thommeny was nominated by Mr Councillor F. Horning, seconded by Mr Councillor C.L.H. Cain.

A ballot took place in which the votes were cast as follows;

Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey 7

Councillor Ms J. Thommeny 5

The Chair declared that Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey having obtained a simple majority of the votes of the Members present, be appointed to serve as the Council's representative to the Isle of Man Municipal Association.

8. Appointment of two Members to the Pensions Committee

The Chair invited nominations for two Members to serve on the Pensions Committee for the remainder of the municipal years 2016 to 2018.

Councillor Ms C.R. Turner was nominated by Mr Councillor D.W. Christian, seconded by Councillor Mrs C.L. Wells.

Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts was nominated by Mr Councillor S.R. Pitts, seconded by Councillor Ms J. Thommeny.

Mr Councillor F. Horning was nominated by Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl, seconded by Councillor Ms C.E. Malarkey.

Mr Councillor F. Horning indicated he did not wish to serve on the Pensions Committee and Mr Councillor R.H. McNicholl subsequently withdrew his nomination.

Resolved unanimously, "That Councillor Ms C.R. Turner and Councillor Miss D.A.M. Pitts, be appointed to serve on the Pensions Committee for the remainder of municipal years 2016 to 2018."

9. Adjournment and Resumption of Meeting

The meeting adjourned at 3.22pm and resumed at 3.24pm with the same twelve Members present.

10. Appointments of Members to Committee Membership

The Chief Executive reported that during the adjournment the Executive Committee convened and decided that the outstanding memberships to the Housing and Regeneration and Community Committees will be appointed at a Special Meeting of the Executive Committee scheduled for Friday, 4th November, 2016 at 4.00pm.

The Council rose at 3.26pm.

Town Clerk & Chief Executive